HomeNewsAstronomy and SpaceLaunch of NASA's DART asteroid mission could also be seen from California...

Launch of NASA’s DART asteroid mission could also be seen from California and the Southwestern US


The launch of NASA’s Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) mission will likely be seen within the night time sky over Southern California. Left: The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket that can launch the DART mission stands on the launchpad at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California, on Nov. 23, 2021. (Image credit score: Left: Bill Ingalls/NASA; Right: JHU-APL/Twitter)

If you reside in California or the southwest United States, you is likely to be in for a launch present Tuesday night time (Nov. 23) native time.

The Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) is scheduled to launch no sooner than 10:20 p.m. PST (1:20 a.m. EST, or 0620 GMT on Nov. 24), on a quest to barely alter the trail of an asteroid moonlet to check planetary defense applied sciences. (Happily, there aren’t any impending asteroid threats, however NASA nonetheless desires the follow for future-proofing.)





Source link

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments